Page Title Skip to main content

Archival Topics and Resources: Home

Mission Statement:

The Nevada State Archives identifies, preserves, protects, and makes accessible the documentary heritage of Nevada.

Vision Statement:

To ensure that state government is accountable, transparent, and supportive to the citizens of Nevada.

 

Inviting
The research room of the State Archives in Carson City is open to the public Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.  State Archives control number IMG-0026.

Questions? Ask-An-Archivist

The Nevada State Archives and Records programs were created by statutes passed in 1965 and 1967 respectively. Its mandate is to administer a comprehensive and cost effective program for the creation, maintenance, retention preservation and disposition of the executive branch of state government as required by NRS 378.230 and 378.280. It provides technical assistance and advice to the Nevada Supreme Court and the Legislative Counsel Bureau in the preparation of their records retention schedules according to NRS 378.255.  It is an integrated program created to manage the complete life cycle of state records from creation to their final disposition whether they are destroyed, microfilmed, imaged or preserved in the archives.  No other agency in state and local government or the private sector has this collective expertise or the capability to perform this task.

People in each era examine the past for guidance, reinterpret its lessons in light of their own needs and perceptions, and act, thereby creating a record for those who follow.  The accumulated capital in this memory bank comprises that culture's archives, that information of enduring value.  As the memory bank of Nevada government, the State Archives preserves and makes available information that enables all citizens to better understand how public policy evolves from the past, governs the present, and affects the future.

The State Archives is the institutional memory of state government.  Along with records management and micrographics and imaging, it is an integral part of the life cycle management of state government records. The Archives is the legal custodian of the historical records of the territory and state as defined in state law, representing the official actions of all three branches of government as required by NRS 378.230 and 378.280.  It preserves those records for the continuity of government and provides public access to them for citizen accountability and the maintenance of rights and entitlements.  Archives staff provides leadership and professional guidance to local and tribal governments and local museums and historical societies and libraries through training classes in archival practices, preservation and disaster planning.  This professional expertise cannot be found anywhere else in the state.

The State Archives is the legal custodian of the historical records of the territory and state as defined and required by NRS 378.240 and 378.245; the records of the governors as required by NRS 378.290; the Secretary of State in accordance with NRS 378.260; the records of the Supreme Court by court order; and the records of the Legislature by arrangement with the Legislative Counsel Bureau.