|Public Library Toolbox
Research & Collections
Library Services & Technology Act (LSTA)
Nevada Library Co-Op
State Council on Libraries & Literacy (SCLL)
|Research & Collections
Using the State Library
Search the Catalog
State Data Center
State Mail Services
About the State Library
The Nevada State Library (NSL) is led by acting administrator and deputy state librarian, Tammy Westergard. Primarily focused on providing internal support to State of Nevada agencies and employees, we also serve Nevada’s academic, school, public, and special libraries as well as residents of the Silver State.
NSL has a vast collection of resource material which is frequently used in education, scholarly research, and business. Among the many things found in our collection are diaries, maps, letters, memoirs, photos, and government records--and, of course, lots of books! See our options below for more information or see our frequently asked questions.
The Library has a wide range resources about Nevada. Resources include digital and print information on Nevada state, county and local governments, Nevada’s history and peoples, natural resources, gaming, business and industries. Explore our website to learn more on these resources.
The Library does not collect popular fiction books. We have a limited number of fiction titles written by Nevada authors and/or written about Nevada in our Nevada Collection. We can assist you in locating fiction titles at your local public library.
The Library has government publications produced by Nevada state, county and local governments. These are available in print in the library or online through the State Publications Distribution Center and the Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records Digital Collection. The Library has a small collection of federal government print publications. Most federal government publications are available online.
Browse our online catalog to find out more.
Yes! Planning & Development is an integral part of the Nevada library community, providing training, guidance, development initiatives and grant monies.
The Library has government publications produced by Nevada state, county and local governments. These are available in print in the library or online through the State Publications Distribution Center and the Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records Digital Collection. The Library has an extensive retrospective collection of federal government print publications. Most federal government publications are available online.
Yes! We offer tours of all our departments: the library, archives, and public records. You can arrange a tour of just one or all of them. Visit our tour page for more information.
Nevada Talking Book Services (NTBS) is a free library service for Nevadans who are unable to use standard print materials due to a visual or physical disability. Books and players are mailed to and from our patrons postage free. The library's collection includes fiction and nonfiction audio books and magazines for all ages.
The State Library is open to the general public. We have print materials as well as public access computers and wifi. All materials are available for use in-house; many are available for check out with a library card.