Page Title Skip to main content
NOTE: Page revisions may impact bookmarks and result in an error message; if this occurs return to the homepage and proceed again. Also, suggestions are welcome through the online form.

Public Library Toolbox (NEW): Library Statistics

Library Statistics

The Nevada State Library collects, edits, and disseminates statistical information on public libraries in the state. This information is shared with the Institute of Museum and Library Services and is part of a national effort to collect library data.

 

 

 

To access the 2018 Nevada Public Library Survey / Statistical Report tool:

You will notice that the online reporting tool received a redesign this year, and all major browsers are supported. Instructions for using the new interface can be found here and also by clicking on Help in the upper right corner once logged into the survey.

Login using the same username and password as last year. If you need your library’s username and password, contact Norma Fowler at 775-684-3407 or nfowler@admin.nv.gov

Help/instructions are available for almost every question on the survey. Just click the gray question mark  next to each data field. Download a full set of line-by-line instructions here. Alternately, a full set of instructions is available at the Instructions​ link in the upper right menu of every screen in the survey tool, but don't hesitate to contact Norma if you have any problems or questions!

The only new data element this year was added at the national level – number of website visits. This is a trial collection year to allow libraries adequate time to begin collecting the new data element. Report N/A if you are unable to report or do not have a website. The data for this year will be collected but will not be published.

As in the past, some answers are pre-filled. This year, section 6.6, Successful Retrieval of Electronic Information, has been divided into two parts – statewide databases and local/consortia databases. Statewide database statistics have been pre-filled; you will need to add successful retrieval information for your locally owned or consortially owned databases. (As shown on the spreadsheet of database statistics, statewide databases are World Book, Learning Express, ABC-CLIO, and Ebsco. Your library may own additional Ebsco databases - such as Novelist or AutoMate - that you purchased separately.) As you know, vendors provide use statistics in a variety of ways. For the databases you own, report the statistic or combination of statistics that most accurately describes how the user examined or downloaded the content. The number of logins, searches or sessions would not typically meet the definition as they are not retrievals, but for some databases, such as language databases, sessions would be an appropriate measure to count. Use your best judgment in determining which statistic to report.

Information from the 2017 fiscal year has been compiled into tables available in PDF format (below).

For the full FY15 Public Library Survey Annual Report (including state profiles) from IMLSclick here

For questions, contact Norma Fowler at nfowler@admin.nv.gov or 775-684-3407.