Page Title Skip to main content

Library Home (NEW): Home


Welcome to the Nevada State Library
100 N. Stewart St.       Carson City, NV       (775) 684-3360
Hours:       Monday - Friday         8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed on weekends and state holidays

The Nevada State Library (NSL) is one of twelve divisions of the State  Department of Administration, and is led by state librarian, Jeff Kintop, CA, and deputy state librarian Tammy Westergard, MLS. Primarily focused on providing internal support to State of Nevada agencies and employees, we also serve Nevada’s academic, school, public, and special libraries and residents of the Silver State.

The library is the last, best place where all citizens can go to level up our skills--and it's free! The State Library has a vast collection of primary resource material which is frequently used in education, scholarly research, and business. Among the many things found in our collection are diaries, maps, letters, memoirs, photos, and government records.
 

In an age where economics, education, health, social opportunities, and civic engagement rely on access to quality learning opportunities, the library is the on-ramp to education and success.

 news link calendar of events link youtube link facebook link twitter link

               

Our Mission

The Nevada State Library is committed to leading the Nevada library community into the heart of the 21st century through innovation, advisement, funding, and educational opportunities. We understand that libraries are uniquely positioned to be innovation hubs that provide free resources to our communities--from job training to after school programming to information literacy guidance. It is our mission to encourage the growth of libraries in our state so that current and future Nevadans have equal access to information and success.

Frequently Asked Questions

The Library has a wide range resources about Nevada. Resources include digital and print information on Nevada state, county and local governments, Nevada’s history and peoples, natural resources, gaming, business and industries. Explore our website to learn more on these resources.

The Library does not collect popular fiction books. We have a limited number of fiction titles written by Nevada authors and/or written about Nevada in our Nevada Collection. We can assist you in locating fiction titles at your local public library.

The Library has government publications produced by Nevada state, county and local governments. These are available in print in the library or online through the State Publications Distribution Center and the Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records Digital Collection. The Library has a small collection of federal government print publications. Most federal government publications are available online.

Browse our online catalog to find out more.

Yes! Planning & Development is an integral part of the Nevada library community, providing training, guidance, development initiatives and grant monies.

The Library has government publications produced by Nevada state, county and local governments. These are available in print in the library or online through the State Publications Distribution Center and the Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records Digital Collection. The Library has an extensive retrospective collection of federal government print publications. Most federal government publications are available online.

Yes! We offer tours of all our departments: the library, archives, and public records. You can arrange a tour of just one or all of them. Visit our tour page for more information.

Nevada Talking Book Services (NTBS) is a free library service for Nevadans who are unable to use standard print materials due to a visual or physical disability. Books and players are mailed to and from our patrons postage free. The library's collection includes fiction and nonfiction audio books and magazines for all ages.

The State Library is open to the general public. We have print materials as well as public access computers and wifi. All materials are available for use in-house; many are available for check out with a library card.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.