Page Title Skip to main content
NOTE: Page revisions may impact bookmarks and result in an error message; if this occurs return to the homepage and proceed again. Also, suggestions are welcome through the online form.

SHRAB: SHRAB

UNR Getchell Library picture

UNR Special Collections in Getchell Library in the Mathewson IGT Knowledge Center, Reno, Nevada.

Nancy Parent, Washoe County Clerk picture

Nancy Parent, Washoe County Clerk, in front of the Washoe County Complex, Reno, Nevada

Nevada State Museum, Las Vegas picture

Nevada State Museum, Las Vegas

Dickinson Library, UNLV picture

UNLV Special Collections in the Dickinson Library, Las Vegas.

Nevada State Library and Archives building picture

Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records, Carson City, Nevada

Henderson City Hall picture

Henderson, Nevada, City Hall

Nevada Museum of Art in Reno picture

Nevada Museum of Art, Reno, Nevada.

Membership: 

Jeff Kintop
 

 

 

Teri J. Mark
Chairperson

Administrator
Nevada State Library, Archives & Public Records

 

Assistant Administrator
Nevada State Library, Archives & Public Records

Peter Michel
Co-chairperson

Curator
Nevada State Museum, Las Vegas
Crystal Van Dee Manuscripts Curator
Nevada State Museum, Las Vegas
Jeremy Floyd Metadata Librarian
University of Nevada, Reno
Shayne del Cohen Consultant
Tribal Government
Nancy Parent Clerk
Washoe County Clerk's Office
Sabrina Mercandante Clerk
Henderson City Clerk's Office
Sara Franz Librarian and Archivist
Nevada Museum of Art
Jacque Sundstrand Manuscript Librarian/Archivist
University of Nevada, Reno
Cynthia Laframboise State Archives Manager
Nevada State Library, Archives & Public Records

Documents
Click the PDF icon to download the document

PDF icon and link About SHRAB
PDF icon and link SHRAB Strategic Plan
PDF icon and link Nevada's Cultural Resources

State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB)

What is SHRAB?

The State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB) is the central advisory body for historical records coordination with each state and for National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC) state and local projects within the state.

SHRABs are authorized under federal regulations governing the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (36 CFR Chapter 12). In this capacity, their primary responsibilities are to:

  • Develop, revise, and submit to the Commission a state plan including priorities for state historical records projects; and to
  • Review all grant proposals to NHPRC for state and local records projects within the state and make recommendations on these proposals to the Commission.

The Nevada State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB) was created in statute in 1989 and was the first such Board created by law in the nation.  SHRAB promotes the establishment and proper maintenance of archives and public records programs throughout the state.  The governor appoints the Board consisting of the State Library, Archives and Public Records Administrator and public members to advise and make recommendations to the legislature.

SHRAB-sponsored Projects and Activities

Many SHRABs have moved beyond these advisory and coordination roles to develop and implement programs to address priorities for its state's historical records. A number of SHRABs have undertaken projects for statewide surveys, public awareness, education and training, and regrants supported with NHPRC funds. SHRABs may also seek non-federal funding in support of such programs.

An important source of support for SHRAB-sponsored projects has been NHPRC's State Board Programming Grant program (formerly the State and National Partnership (SNAP) Grant program). Since 2008, NHPRC has awarded over $4.5 million to 46 SHRABs for activities to strengthen historical records programs and build a national archival network.

Authority: Chapter 378A - State Historical Records Advisory Board.

SHRAB Minutes & Agendas

Date Location Agenda Minutes
June, 2018

06/22/2018 | 09:30 a.m.

University of Nevada Reno
Date Location Agenda Minutes
June, 2017

06/8/2017 | 09:30 a.m.

Nevada State Museum of Art, Reno Word document icon and link Word document icon and link
Date Location Agenda Minutes
No meetings held.
Date Location Agenda Minutes
December, 2015

12/16/2015  10:15 a.m.

Nevada State Museum, Las Vegas, NV   Word document icon and link
Date Location Agenda Minutes
May, 2014

05/14/2014  10:30 a.m.

 

Committee Room

State Library, Archives and Public Records, Carson City

Word document icon and link  
Date Location Agenda Minutes
June & October, 2013
06/19/2013 City of Henderson PDF icon and link PWord document icon and link
10/15/2013

Mathewson - IT Knowldege Center

UNR, Reno

PDF icon and link word document icon and link
Loading ...

Contact Us
Have questions? Feel free to contact us.