Nevada Library Legislative Program 2019
The ability to join forces is key to success in facing the challenges ahead. With this in mind, members of the State Council on Libraries & Literacy (SCLL) initiated an in-depth, 90-minute workshop using an interactive Aspen Institute model SOAR analysis, at the 2018 Nevada Library Association conference in Las Vegas. The session involved members from the entire library community. The aim was to ask people to express ideas and raise points about the current state of Nevada libraries: school, special, academic, and public. Participants discussed views, emphasized commonalities, and pledged to move forward in proactive way. This session was of vital importance as it offered insights from Nevada librarians about what is working and what needs help in our institutions. Critically, the results of the session have aided SCLL and the Nevada State Library to lead and formulate a legislative agenda.
On Feb. 25-26, library leaders from around the United States will convene in Washington DC to advocate for continued funding for our nation's libraries. The delegation will meet with their Congressional delegates to advocate for robust grant funding and nationwide initiatives (workforce development, broadband access, etc.) designed to better the lives of our diverse communities.
The Nevada State Council on libraries and Literacy is pleased to present the 2018 Report to the Governor and the Legislature. It may seem unusual to begin a letter such as this by talking about a new set of tires and a clutch replacement. Well, thanks to the passage of SB 549 during the last legislative session the Elko-Lander-Eureka bookmobile was able to make these repairs to their bookmobile, which resulted in a safer operating vehicle. This is just one example of the impact SB549 had in supporting libraries in every corner of the state, as you will see in this report.
This report also reflects the diverse ways libraries are keeping relevant, resilient, adapting to change and forging new and expanded community partnerships . This is in part due to the federal Library Service and Technology Act (LSTA) funds that flow into the state as well as partnerships formed with community organizations. One example of this synergy in action is the embedding of southern Nevada Workforce Connections One Stop Career Centers in the 4 library districts in the Vegas Valley. To complement this natural Library=Jobs endeavor, the state library has funded access for these sites to the Nevada Career Explorer, an interactive online career coaching and exploration platform emphasizing in-demand occupations vital to Nevada’s economic growth. The leadership of the Las Vegas Clark County Library District, Henderson Libraries, North Las Vegas Library District, and Boulder City has been a key to the One Stop/Nevada Career Explorer success.
Laura Bush once referred to libraries as “community treasure chests”. We welcome your continued support for these “Nevada treasure chests” that will give them the tools and resources they need to remain relevant and to flourish.
State Council on Libraries & Literacy
Nevada’s libraries are trusted and pivotal community partners; local, state, and federal agencies recognize this by consistently appropriating library funding into their budgets funding. The legislature appropriates funds to support local funding for public library collections, rural bookmobiles, and online research and educational databases. Collections and Rural Bookmobile funds are distributed through formula driven pass through grants, while databases are purchased on behalf of all libraries using the state’s considerable buying power. In addition, the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) supports libraries in Nevada through the population based federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) state award. The Nevada State Library administers this grant, using it to advance statewide library priorities as well as subgranting a portion to eligible libraries. Leveraged with local funds (a match is required), libraries use LSTA as seed money to develop sustainable projects and provide effective and agile solutions to community needs.
For more information on LSTA, click here.
Nevada LSTA Library Priorities
List goes here
Computer Coding in the Library with NCLab
Coding, or computer programming, is a digital literacy skill that has become as important as reading and writing in the 21st century. Learning to code means learning how to think creatively, reason systematically and work collaboratively. To support this new and vital literacy, the Nevada State Library has partnered with NCLab, a Reno-based technology company, to 1) provide all public libraries with access to NCLab’s web-based, all-ages, computer programming and 3D modeling courses, and 2) create a series of in-person and asynchronous Train-the Trainer coding workshops for frontline library staff. Thanks to this initiative, most of Nevada’s public libraries now able to offer quality outcome-based coding classes, camps, and clubs.
According to MIT professor Mitchel Resnick, coding is a gateway to broader learning. “When you learn to read, you can then read to learn. And it’s the same thing with coding: If you learn to code, you can code to learn.”
Elected officials have long recognized that libraries, as trusted community centers, are essential to building and sustaining healthy, vibrant, thriving societies and can help advance critical community priorities; this graph highlights prime areas of opportunity for library/local government collaborations. The Role of Libraries in Advancing Community Goals
Data Point FY2017 State Total FY2016 State Total
Nevada Population 2,953,375 2,897,584
Library Card Holders 1,296,262 1,311,629
% of Nevadans w/Library Cards 44% 45%
Public Library Systems 22 22
Total # Library Branch Locations 84 84
Library Visits per Capita 3.28 3.36
Numbers of Hours Open 166,721 165,337
# of Volunteers 1,658 Not Collected
Total Volunteer Hours 98,056 Not Collected
Total Library Programs 33,217 31,337
Total Program Attendance 675,593 855,996
Public Computer Sessions 2,656,299 2,675,980
Wifi Sessions 1,431,511 1,370,185
Summer Reading Programs by the Numbers
0-5 14,148 26,627
6-11 20,460 21,373
12-18 8,937 6,202
19+ 1,740 n/a
programs 3,611 3867
“That all may read”
Over 100,000 Nevadans have a visual or mobility disability that prevents them from reading or holding printed books. For these residents, the State Library supports Nevada Talking Book Services (NVTB), a library for the blind. NVTB provides books and magazines in audio and braille as well as specialized playback equipment that has been tailored to the needs of the visually impaired. Providing equitable access to information is a founding principal of public library services and NVTB does just that, sharing the gift of reading with visually impaired patrons in all situations and environments, whether at home, a care facility, or even the state prison. Talking Books patrons often share with staff how much enjoyment, quality of life, and personal enrichment the program brings to them!
Nevada Talking Books Services -By the numbers*:
*2017 & 2018
The Elko, Humboldt, and Lincoln County Bookmobiles visit some of the most rural and isolated communities in the state; through local agreements, they also visit residents in Lander, Eureka, Pershing, and White Pine Counties. All seven of these counties are among the top 100 geographically largest in the United States; with vast tracts of open land and miles of highway between towns and even between neighbors, they also have among the lowest of population densities. Rural Bookmobiles go a long way in bridging these miles with stops at daycares, schools, parks, general stores, the post office, ranches, senior care facilities, honor camps, and "wide spots in the road" such as rural mailboxes. As miniature mobile libraries, rural bookmobiles bring a unifying sense of community and connection to rural Nevadans through the sharing books, information, entertainment, and knowledge.
By the numbers
Rural Bookmobiles 3
Bookmobile Stops 44
Bookmobile Visitors 15,401
Number of Rural Counties 7
Population density 1.5 person/square mile
The state’s philosophy is that all libraries should provide core basic library services; if the local funding is strained, then the State will assist Nevada public libraries in providing a well-rounded, complete, and current collection of books and information for their communities. Thus, State Collection Development grants were created during the 1995 legislative session. Initially they were for rural libraries but by the next session, the scope was expanded to include all eligible public libraries. Grants are distributed using an equitable funding formula to ensure libraries with smaller funding bases have the support they need. Libraries use this money to either to build up core collections , such as children’s nonfiction, invest in the newer digital/streaming formats, or even buy circulation art collections!
Note: Libraries may not use Collection Development grants to reduce or replace local funding.
State Collection Development Biennium Allocations By the Numbers*
2017 circulation stats
Children’s Items borrowed 6,038,454
Total items borrowed
# of Ebook/Audio Books borrowed 2,387,527
# Database/Electronic Materials sessions 4,532,570
ABC-CLIO History/Government Resources, Learning Express Library Test Preparation, World Book Online, EBSCO Research Databases, and Nevada Career Explorer.
Libraries have always collected and provided accurate, reliable, and trustworthy information resources that support education, learning, and life goals for their communities, at every age and every stage. One way in which the state assists is by funding online digital resources (databases) that are not available for free anywhere on the internet. These databases support school curriculum as well as workplace attainment and advancement. In 2018, with support from both federal LSTA and state SB 549, the state obtained a new database resource: the Nevada Career Explorer. The Nevada Career Explorer is an online platform that highlights the most in-demand occupations vital to Nevada’s economic growth and matches users’ skills and interests to their ideal careers and employers that are hiring
The Nevada Career Explorer has been rolled out as a demonstration project in the Vegas Valley libraries that have partnered with Nevada Workforce Connections to host One Stop Career Centers (aka the employment office): Las Vegas-Clark County Library District, (LVCCLD), Henderson Libraries, Boulder City Library, and the North Las Vegas Library District. LVCCLD has One-Stop Centers in four of their branches, and has also brought the Nevada Career Explorer into local area high schools. Churchill County Library in the north is piloting the project to see how this career database will succeed in libraries without One Stops.
Virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), and extended reality (XR), are making a global impact on the ways in which we learn, work, and relate to life. These interactive, immersive platforms make it possible for the user to experience anything, at any time, in any place. Nevada’s libraries have always been leaders in introducing emerging technologies to the public; with appropriations from SB 549, the State Library has created the Nevada XR Libraries pilot program, providing virtual reality equipment and quality extended reality experiences to library patrons, students, and teachers. Initially, 11 public and high school libraries were accepted into the pilot program; 2019 will see participation from an additional 4 libraries and 1 planetarium! Parallel to the XR Libraries pilot is the Libraries = Education sub-initiative. In Libraries = Education, High School XR librarians are collaborating with their school’s science teachers to integrate educational XR content into classroom curriculum.
Note: XR is not just a fun new toy, it has real world applications for people of all abilities. Nevada Talking Books staff are researching ways in which visually impaired can participate and benefit from XR. Through the use of virtual reality programs, a Churchill School District speech pathologist has seen a huge leap in his student’s progress at school and at home
The Nevada State Library has presented ongoing results from the XR Libraries pilot to librarians across the country, including at the national American Library Association conference; it has also created the first ever library catalog records for extended reality content, making XR experiences findable to libraries everywhere in the world.
The first five years are critical to children's development and Nevada’s libraries are there to help nurture curious young minds. Libraries offer welcoming spaces and a wide range of programs that emphasize the social, emotional, core motor skills children need for reading and school success. Libraries can also provide a space for parental support networks, connecting families to community health and educational resources as well as each other.
On the horizon is a Nevada State Library early and family literacy pilot initiative, a flexible and community driven model that will complement existing library programs while at the same time bringing in the expertise and support of state, local, and non-profit early and family literacy partner organizations - stay tuned for more information!
By the numbers: Early Childhood Education
2018 Children’s Programs: 15,569*
2018 Children’s Attendance: 400,848*
*Institute of Museums and Libraries
**Source: National Institute for Early Education Resource
The Council has advocated for libraries in Nevada for 51 years, since creation in 1965. In 1993 the State Council on Libraries and the Governor’s Literacy Coalition Advisory Council merged to form the State Council on Libraries and Literacy Council (SCLL). Today the SCLL serves as the advisory council for the State Library, Archives, and Public Records (NSLAPR) with regard to its many responsibilities relating to libraries and literacy in the State of Nevada.
To foster and further the establishment and proper maintenance of superior libraries and literacy programs. To promote the acquisition of resources, facilities, professional staffs and auxiliary personnel fully to support library & literacy services.
The Council may:
1. Examine and overview the whole state of libraries, librarianship, library education, library resources, and all allied and cognate activities and prepare a record of its findings.
2. Require public libraries to provide necessary library statistics and reports and to make recommendations from the advancement of libraries.
3. Report biennially to the Governor and Legislature. The report must be filed on or before January 1 of each odd-numbered year.
4. Publish material pertaining to its work that it may order issued.
5. Review plans and applications submitted by libraries and political subdivisions for state grants-in-aid and make recommendations to the State Library, Archives, and Public Records Administrator concerning approval.
6. Examine and evaluate the programs for literacy in this State.
7. Establish a plan for coordinating programs and activities for promoting and increasing literacy in this State.
March 6, 9:00 AM - 2:30 PM Representatives from Nevada’s libraries will be showcasing all the amazing programs and services we offer to our legislators! We’ll be highlighting our real-life adventures with virtual and extended reality, as well as promoting our progress in workforce development. The Humboldt County Library will drive their bookmobile down from Winnemucca to further illustrate the very real ways we’re reaching beyond our walls to serve our communities.
March 27, 9:00 AM - 2:30 PM Same plan as the March 6 event.
April 7-13: National Library Week
April 10: Nevada Library Legislative Day
Makes an appropriation to the Division of State Library, Archives and Public Records of the Department of Administration for certain projects, services and technology. For more information on how SB549 helped Nevada's libraries, see infographic at left.