|Carson City Library||Building Habits of Mind(craft)||$5,000|
|Honors Academy Library||Connecting Nevada’s Authors, Illustrators||$4,500|
|Sierra Nevada College Library||3D Printing||$5,000|
|Mineral County Library||Lights! Camera! Action!: media production||$5,000|
|White Pine County Library||E-Books Access||$1,270|
|Amargosa Valley Public Library||Little Steps Into Literacy||$3,443|
|Elko County Library||Digital Information Boards||$3,960|
|Pershing County Library||Nevada Room||$5,000|
Ranking figures are derived from the direct voting of the members of the State Council on Libraries and Literacy during the meeting held January 14, 2015. Individual grants are scored and each Council member assigns a numerical value to the grant. Each grant total is then divided by the number of reviewers who voted on the project. This produces the Final Score. Note: some abstentions were recorded during the voting process and were factored into the scoring.
|Library||Title||Amount Requested||Final Score|
|UNR, Special Collections (1)||Paul Laxalt and Ronald Reagan Papers||$32,700||84.07|
|Pershing County Library||Digitize Lovelock Review-Miner Newspaper||$8,960||81.43|
|UNLV Lied Library||Teacher-Librarian Institute||$40,000||81.17|
|Mineral County Library||Revving Up Teen Services||$25,739||80.64|
|Henderson District Libraries||Around the World in 30 Days International||$34,400||80.15|
|Sierra Nevada College Library||Integrating Text and Image – Community Read||$17,850||80.15|
|Carson City Library||Nevada’s Working Capital – Getting to Work||$82,902||78.31|
|Pershing Co. School District||High School Library Learning Lab||$100,000||78.21|
|North Las Vegas Library District||Reinventing the North Las Vegas Library||$97,600||76.86|
|LV-CCLD||Pre-K for All: A Community Approach||$95,000||76.58|
|Washoe County Library||Idea and Experience Box||$70,100||72.57|
|Churchill Co. School Libraries||Libraries STEM Collection Development||$35,000||71.69|
|UNR, Special Collections (2)||Presenting Alf Doten’s Complete Diaries||$64,582||68.14|
Statewide LSTA grants are managed by NSLA staff. They serve every resident of Nevada.
The Continuing Education project will support the professional development of staff in Nevada’s public, academic, special, and school libraries. Customers of these libraries will benefit from the improved skills, knowledge, or abilities gained by the library staff as a result of participating in continuing education activities. The project will provide the following services and activities:
|The Information Nevada project supports equitable access to information by library patrons statewide. The Nevada State Library and Archives (NSLA) coordinates resource sharing for libraries and library users throughout the state via Inter-Library Loan and document delivery. Another critical part of the program is to provide support for postage for libraries that demonstrate need for Inter-library Loan (ILL) return postage costs.|
|Nevada Digital Initiative||$82,620|
|The purpose/mission of the Nevada Statewide Digital Initiative is to increase access to the collections held by Nevada’s Cultural Heritage Institutions’ through digital access to materials by residents of Nevada and scholars and researchers interested in Nevada’s culture and history. The Nevada Statewide Digital Advisory Committee is currently involved in addressing a series of steps in the development of a digital infrastructure in Nevada. The work of the committee is guided by the Nevada Statewide Digital Action Plan, 2009-2014. The purpose of the digital plan is to assist Nevada’s cultural heritage organizations and allied information providers to: 1) preserve and provide access to the greatest amount of materials possible documenting Nevada’s history and development; 2) further the services of libraries, archives, museums, information centers and educational systems to meet expanding educational needs of students and residents; 3) develop their digital collections on a statewide basis; and 4) develop a digital information infrastructure. The steps being
completed by the Advisory Committee include 1) finalizing a collection policy; 2) finalizing and publicizing a website that links existing projects; 3) promulgating statewide best practice/standards; 4) creating local partnerships that would build up to statewide partnerships; and 5) continuing support for the statewide digital advisory committee. In order to continue the work of the committee in 2015-2016, this grant application seeks to fund a meeting of the advisory committee, digital project staff, digital training, support for the National Newspaper Digital Project, and the Nevada State Library & Archives (NSLA) Digital Collections.
|Statewide Bookmobile Support||$26,000|
|The Nevada State Library and Archives (NSLA) through the LSTA program and the State legislature have combined to support the bookmobiles in Elko, Humboldt and Lincoln counties. These three county libraries operate bookmobiles that serve some of the most rural and isolated communities in the state. This project continues the operational support costs for the named counties.|
|This request will continue the statewide database project that provides access to online databases for the K-12 residents of Nevada whether at school, the public library or at home. Children and adults have access anywhere in the state of Nevada that an Internet connection is available. The Nevada Legislature continued funding for school libraries; however additional funding is needed for public libraries and remote access for all Nevada residents.
The list of databases includes online full text, pictorial magazines and other reference information databases. Public libraries are providing the authentication portals needed for residents to access database information from home. The people of Nevada have access to an impressive range of information as a result of this project.
|Statewide Reading Programs||$88,150|
|The need in Nevada for comprehensive lifespan efforts to ensure literacy continues to be an issue. As Nevada’s population adjusts to the effects of the recession, it behooves the state to ensure a literate population which will result in a well educated and stable workforce to support and attract economic development. This project is designed to address the reading and literacy needs of Nevadans of all ages.
Programs implemented include summer reading which occurs in Nevada’s public libraries; DIA, Diversity In Action, (formerly El Día de los Niños/El Día de los Libros) held in April of each year in recognition of Nevada’s large Hispanic population (26% of total population in 2012) and growing ethnically diverse populations; the Nevada Center for the Book, an affiliate of the Library of Congress Center for the Book, which implements literacy programs like Letters About Literature designed to address reflective thinking and other skills and supports adult reading programs; Nevada Reads, which encourages community and adult participation in a statewide read; collaborates with adult basic education to support library activities that serve the unemployed in Nevada, and provides for the implementation of a statewide information literacy initiative. The grant project provides for literacy information through the State Literacy Resource Center (SLRC), the Literacy Resources Directory, and literacy data available on the Nevada Center for the Book page and the State Data Center (SDC).
|Nevada Talking Books Services||$228,152|
|Nevada Talking Book Services (NTBS) is part of a the National Library Service’s (NLS) free national program available to all U.S. citizens with an identified handicap that prevents them from reading materials in print format. NTBS administers the program to all qualifying Nevadans. This service focuses on providing and distributing free audio books, magazines, program specific players, access to Braille books, and downloading of digital books, Braille music scores and electronic copies of Braille books. This service also provides the staff to assist our patrons in utilizing this service to its fullest. The Keystone Library Automation System (KLAS) is a full service software system designed and developed for Talking Book libraries. This system benefits Talking Books staff and clients with improved reader advisory functions, accurate tracking of books and machines, reduced staff processing time of books to and from patrons, efficient item attaching, independent patron access to their accounts and titles in our collection through the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC) as well as staff training and database support. Books about Nevada and/or written by Nevadans are typically not recorded by NLS. This grant provides a Recording Program Coordinator who identifies Nevada authors and titles to record; trains and coordinates scheduling of volunteers who record, edits and reviews selected books and magazines; catalogs books and magazines into the NTBS and national databases for sharing with any NLS patron nationwide; and provides material of local interest to NTBS patrons including Nevada magazines and government publications in the same format as NLS materials.|
|This project will partially cover the costs of administration of the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) and will include personnel costs and travel expenses for the State Council for Libraries and Literacy. The LSTA program allows a maximum of 4% of the total award to the state to manage the program in Nevada. This amount does not fully cover the requirements administration; however, if the allotment for Nevada increases, the amount for administration will be closer to the actual costs incurred.
Note: The amount for this grant may be changed if the LSTA formula changes the state allotment.
|Statewide Public Library Statistics||$12,650|
The Public Library Statistics project will facilitate the collection and utilization of statistical information about Nevada public library operations for planning, decision making, accountability and other purposes. Public libraries in the United States contribute statistical information about their operations to a national database via the Public Library Survey (PLS), under the auspices of the Institute for Museums and Library Services (IMLS). Data are available on individual libraries and aggregated to state and national levels.
Data will be collected via BiblioStat Collect, an online tool available to staff of Nevada public libraries to use to submit local library statistics for the PLS and additional statistics targeted by the Nevada State Library and Archives on topics such as education of library staff and summer reading programs.
BiblioStat Connect provides access to and utilizes the data gathered in the Public Library Survey as well as 2010 Census data. The data manipulation features enable users to identify peer libraries based on a number of socioeconomic factors, and to create tables, charts, and graphs, view averages and percentiles, and organize results into reports and presentations. Data from the Public Library Survey are available from BiblioStat Connect approximately one year after collection; raw data are available from the IMLS website approximately two years after collection.