Archival holdings located in the closed stacks at the State Archives, Carson City. State Archives control number DSCF-0058.
The State Archives program of the Archives and Records Management section maintains the State's historically valuable records. Records transferred to the State Archives are appraised for historical, fiscal, or administrative value and are either accessioned into the archives or disposed. Records accessioned into the State Archives transfer to the legal custody of the State Archives, except, as provided by law. (NRS 378.250, 378.260, 378.320)
Please print and fill out the .pdf version of the transfer form found linked below. When completed, the form can be e-mailed to Senior Archivist Liz Moore at email@example.com or faxed to 775-684-3371.
Incomplete forms will not be accepted and will be returned to the agency.
Information about transferring records to the Nevada State Archives can be found on the Nevada State Library, Archives, and Public Records website: http://nsla.libguides.com/c.php?g=769242&p=5530792.
The information necessary to fill out the fields on the form can be found on the Nevada State Records Management Program page found here: http://nsla.libguides.com/state-records-services/retention-schedules.
Click on the tabs to find the various retention schedules. The General Records Retention Schedule (far left tab) contains information relating to records, like meeting minutes and correspondence, that are common to all agencies. The Constitutional Officers Retention Schedules cover the Office of the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and others who hold elected positions. Independent Board and Commission Schedules cover entities like the Public Utilities Commission. Agency Specific Retention Schedules document the records unique to specific agencies that would not be found in the General Schedule. These schedules are provided in a .pdf format that cannot be searched on the website; downloading them to a computer desktop allows them to be searchable.
The excerpt above shows a typical entry in the State General Records Retention Schedule. The number at the top left should be entered in the RDA# field. The header following the records disposition authority (RDA) number can be used as the description of the records on the first line. The date range will be determined by the records being sent to the State Archives. The rest of the information in the Retention Schedule description provides guidance in determining which records should be sent to the State Archives and doesn’t need to be included on the form. NSLAPR Archives Transfer Quick Guide 2
Here is an example of an Archives Transfer Form entry:
Only one line of the form needs to be filled out for each records category. Subsequent lines can be filled out if more than one type of record is being transferred. The form is in .pdf format; anyone with Adobe Acrobat Pro should be able to type in the fields, however the form can also be printed and filled out by hand, then be scanned back to a .pdf document.
Completed forms should be e-mailed to firstname.lastname@example.org. Once the information on the form has been verified, a staff member from the Nevada State Archives will contact the agency records officer to schedule the transfer. Normal transfer hours are Monday through Friday, excluding holidays, between 8:15-8:45am or 3:15-4:30pm. Agencies in the Reno-Carson City area will need to drop the records off at the Nevada State Library and Archives building at 100 North Stewart Street in Carson City, Nevada. Offices located in rural or southern Nevada will need to make other arrangements to have the records shipped to the Carson City location.