Page Title Skip to main content

Continuing Ed (NEW): Continuing Education Home

     

Bright ideas
We know that education doesn't stop in high school or college--it's a lifelong experience!

Continuing Education

Advances in information technology and expanding library user expectations require continuous education.  The statewide continuing education program works collaboratively with Nevada libraries to address the need for continuous library education through planned, coordinated and varied statewide continuing education programs to hone staff expertise, foster professional development, empower library trustees, broaden public awareness and ultimately improve library services.

Have questions? Email Matt Erwin or Sulin Jones at the Nevada State Library.

Continuing Education Calendar (see below)
The Nevada State Library provides a calendar of free continuing education webinars available to the library community. If you have suggestions or know of a webinar that you want included, please contact us.

Funds for Library Juice, WebJunction, and Infopeople have been provided by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) through the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA), administered by the Nevada State Library.

Records Management Training Classes
For further information about the Records Management Training Classes through the Nevada State Library & Archives Records Center contact Sara Martel, State Records Manager.

Train with our Partners

   

Taken a course from Infopeople, Web Junction, or Library Juice Academy? Take the IMLS required survey here

UPCOMING: World Book training webinar

Nevada statewide databases introductory webinar to World Book for public and K-12 libraries.

Time and date: Oct. 23, 2018 @ 3:00 PM

Registration link:  https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8803245738769327875.

Covering the following World Book databases:

  • Early World of Learning
  • World Book Kids (and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos)
  • World Book Student
  • World Book Advanced
  • Dramatic Learning
  • Timelines

The webinar will be recorded and archived for future reference. 

Calendar

Course by Date & Category

ADVOCACY

Oct 3: Advocacy for Everyone (Association for Library Service to Children)

Oct 25: Literacy Heroes and Global Libraries (American Association of School Librarians)

 

ASSESSMENT & PLANNING

Oct 2: The Making of the Best Small Library in America (Library Journal)

Oct 11: #TrendingNow: Using Data to Grow Your Patronage (Library Journal)

Oct 18: Measuring Success: How to Strategically Assess Your Program (VolunteerMatch)

Oct 23: Strategic Planning When You Can’t Afford A Consultant (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)

 

 

ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGY

Oct 2: An Introduction to Assistive Technology (Washington State Library)

 

BOARDS

At Your Leisure: Building a Culture of Learning with Library Boards (WebJunction)

Oct 30: The Boardroom 2018: Seven Habits of Effective Library Boards (State Library of Iowa)

 

CAREERS

At Your Leisure: Interview Tips and Tricks from Both Sides of the Desk (Tennessee Library Association)

Oct 18: In the Shoes of a Fellow: The National Library of Medicine’s Associate Fellowship Program (National Network of Libraries of Medicine)

 

CHILDREN & TEENS

Oct 9: New Ways to Supercharge Your Storytimes (WebJunction)

Oct 10: Creating Nature-based Classrooms: Breaking the Aesthetic Code of Early Childhood Environments (Early Childhood Investigations)

Oct 11: Equity of Access (YALSA)

Oct 11: Inquiry: What Does It Mean for Young Children and How Do We Support It in Early Learning Programs? (Early Childhood Investigations)

Oct 24: Story-times and Transitions with Heart: Lessons for Early Educators from youth librarians (Early Childhood Investigations)

Oct 30: Book Tasting in the Library: A recipe for reading (Infopeople)

 

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT & MANAGEMENT

Oct 4: Dreaming of STEAM: Hands-on Learning for Young Readers (Booklist)

Oct 4: Taking the STEM to Them: Circulating STEM Kits in a Library of Things (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)

Oct 9: Spectacular Series Nonfiction: Fall 2018 (Booklist)

Oct 10: Entertainment—The Top Digital Library Service in 2019 (American Libraries Live)

Oct 11: YA Announcements: Winter and Beyond (Booklist)

Oct 11: Feathers On and Off the Bird: Documenting and Caring for Featherwork (Connecting to Collections)

Oct 18: Book Club Matchmaker: Standout Selections for This Season and Next (Booklist)

Oct 23: Curating your Best Collection (Colorado State Library)

Oct 23: Preserving Artifacts of Free Speech: Caring for Political Memorabilia (Connecting to Collections)

 

COMMUNICATION

Oct 31: 5 Trends Shaping a New Reality for Nonprofits (Firespring)

 

DIGITAL RESOURCES

Oct 9: 3 Cool Tools for Digital Writing (TeachersFirst)

 

DATABASES & eRESOURCES

At Your Leisure: Web Content Introduction to GPO FDSYS (Federal Depository Library Program)

Oct 18: The Patent Office and Its Publications (Federal Depository Library Program)

Oct 25: Database of the Month: Social Issues (Wyoming State Library)

Oct 30: Rural America: Federal and Non-Profit Resources on Economic Development, Health, and Housing (Federal Depository Library Program)

 

DEVELOPMENT & MANAGING CHANGE

At Your Leisure: Interview Tips and Tricks from Both Sides of the Desk (Tennessee Library Association)

Oct 3: RTSS/TNT Present "Streaming Video 101 for Academic Libraries: Life after Purchasing (Or We Have Streaming Media, Now What?)" (North Carolina Library Association)

Oct 9: Delivering Government Solutions in the 21st Century (GovLoop)

Oct 10: Beyond Awareness: Strategies for Demonstrating Cultural Competence in Library Services to Children (Association for Library Service to Children)

Oct 10: Advancing Racial Equity in Your Library (Public Library Association)

Oct 11: Equity of Access (YALSA)

Oct 11: Three Steps to Thriving in Chaos (Effectiveness Institute)

Oct 25: Are You Asking the Right Data Management Questions? (GovLoop)

 

FUNDRAISING

Oct 2: Building a Successful Grants Program 101 (Elevate)

Oct 2: Enhancing Your #GivingTuesday with Social Media (Blackbaud)

Oct 3: 5 Things You Need to Crush Your Year-End Fundraising Goals  (Network for Good)

Oct 3: Introduction to Project Budgets (Grantspace)

Oct 9: How Your Nonprofit Can Get $10K Per Month In Free Google Advertising (CharityHowTo)

Oct 9: Getting ready for #GivingTuesday (Big Duck)

Oct 10: 7 Steps for Getting Started in Major Gifts (Even in Small Shops) (CharityHowTo)

Oct 15: How to Attract, Cultivate and Wow Sponsors (Firespring)

Oct 18: Capital Campaign Communications: Creating a Powerful Case for Support (Bloomerang)

Oct 18: How to Avoid Fundraising’s Quiet Killer: Donor Attrition (Firespring)

Oct 24: How to Turn Event Guests Into Donors (CharityHowTo)

Oct 24: Introduction to Finding Grants (Grantspace)

 

LEGAL

Oct 11: A Virtual Copyright Education Center for Libraries, Archives and Museums (Lyrasis)

 

LIBRARY SPACES

Oct 30: Why a Digital Media Lab Belongs in Your Library (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)

 

MANAGEMENT

Oct 9: Creating an Interlibrary Loan Policy for Your Public Library (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)

Oct 10: Game On! Motivate and Engage Your Staff with Gaming Strategies (National Network of Libraries of Medicine)

Oct 11: Build a Better Workplace Culture with Compassion and Purpose (American Management Association)

Oct 16: Bozarthzone! Juggling 101: Managing Multiple Priorities (InSync Training)

 

OUTREACH & PARTNERSHIPS

Oct 10: NCompass Live: Virtual Tours in the Library with Nebraska History (Nebraska Library Commission)

Oct 10: Transform National Family Learning Insights Into Local Library Impact (Demco)

 

PROGRAMMING

Oct 4: Taking the STEM to Them: Circulating STEM Kits in a Library of Things (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)

Oct 9: New Ways to Supercharge Your Storytimes (WebJunction)

Oct 15: Info2Go! BreakoutEDU in the Library (Idaho Commission for Libraries)

Oct 17: DIY Escape Rooms and Other Immersive Experiences (Utah State Library)

Oct 17: Flipped Classroom: Turning Traditional Library Programs Upside Down (Georgia Library Association)

Oct 17: Tales of the Crypt: Danville’s Living History Night (Programming Librarian)

Oct 23: Let’s Get Moving at the Library! Physical Activity Programs for Fun & Health (Indiana State Library)

Oct 25: Literacy Heroes and Global Libraries (American Association of School Librarians)

Oct 25: Is The Cloud Safe? Ensuring Security on the Cloud (TechSoup)

 

READER’S ADVISORY

Oct 4: Dreaming of STEAM: Hands-on Learning for Young Readers (Booklist)

Oct 9: Spectacular Series Nonfiction: Fall 2018 (Booklist)

Oct 9: Social Activism in YA Lit (School Library Journal)

Oct 11: YA Announcements: Winter and Beyond (Booklist)

Oct 18: Book Club Matchmaker: Standout Selections for This Season and Next (Booklist)

Oct 30: Book Tasting in the Library: A recipe for reading (Infopeople)

 

REFERENCE

Oct 11: Open science: from empowering people to employing platforms (Library Connect)

Oct 16: Train (Maybe) For The Olympics: Using Government Resources To Learn About Appropriate Exercise (Federal Depository Library Program)

Oct 16: 12 Steps to Stay Safer Online (TechSoup)

Oct 17: Public Health Resources - Breezing Along with the RML (National Network of Libraries of Medicine)

Oct 18: The Patent Office and Its Publications (Federal Depository Library Program)

 

SCHOOL LIBRARIES

At Your Leisure: School Library Resources @ the Wyoming State Library.

Oct 2: Getting Augmented Reality in Your Classroom with HP Reveal (Technology & Innovation in Education)

Oct 9: Social Activism in YA Lit (School Library Journal)

Oct 9: 3 Cool Tools for Digital Writing (TeachersFirst)

Oct 10: Creating Nature-based Classrooms: Breaking the Aesthetic Code of Early Childhood Environments (Early Childhood Investigations)

Oct 10: Defending Intellectual Freedom: LGBTQ+ Materials in School Libraries (American Association of School Librarians)

Oct 11: Inquiry: What Does It Mean for Young Children and How Do We Support It in Early Learning Programs? (Early Childhood Investigations)

Oct 15: Info2Go! BreakoutEDU in the Library (Idaho Commission for Libraries)

Oct 15: Fight Fake News: Media Literacy for Students (edWeb)

Oct 17: Tales of the Crypt: Danville’s Living History Night (Programming Librarian)

Oct 24: Transforming Learning with Chrome (edWeb)

Oct 24: NCompass Live: Strategies for Identifying Fake News (Nebraska Library Commission)

Oct 24: Story-times and Transitions with Heart: Lessons for Early Educators from youth librarians (Early Childhood Investigations)

Oct 25: Literacy Heroes and Global Libraries (American Association of School Librarians)

 

TECHNOLOGY

Oct 2: Getting Augmented Reality in Your Classroom with HP Reveal (Technology & Innovation in Education)

Oct 11: Technology and Scale in Microenterprise: Lessons Learned from Grameen America (TechSoup for Libraries)

Oct 24: Transforming Learning with Chrome (edWeb)

Oct 25: Is The Cloud Safe? Ensuring Security on the Cloud (TechSoup)

Oct 30: AI Bot 'Professor/Librarian' Delivers Lecture to Combat Fake News (San Jose State University iSchool)

Oct 30: Why a Digital Media Lab Belongs in Your Library (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)

 

TRAINING & INSTRUCTION

Oct 9: Facilitating a Robust Social Learning Experience for Geographically Dispersed Teams (InSync Training)

Oct 11: A Virtual Copyright Education Center for Libraries, Archives and Museums (Lyrasis)

Oct 17: Flipped Classroom: Turning Traditional Library Programs Upside Down (Georgia Library Association)

Oct 31: NCompass Live: Teaching Digital Literacy in Your Library (Nebraska Library Commission)

 

VOLUNTEERS

Oct 9: Where Do I Go From Here? Engage Volunteers in New Ways (VolunteerMatch)

Oct 18: Measuring Success: How to Strategically Assess Your Program (VolunteerMatch)

Loading ...