Page Title Skip to main content

Nevada History (NEW): Photographs in the Archives

People on horses

Nevada Photographs Links 

    

Photographs in the Archives

The Nevada State Archives has an extensive collection of photographs dating back to the founding of the state in 1864. These photos consist of varied subject matter--landscapes, portraits, candid scenes, and surveying trips. Some of these can be found on our Digital Collections website. Copies or access photographs not on the website will require a trip to the archives. These photographs offer pictorial evidence of our state and its diversity.

Most of the photos were created by state agencies in the course of normal business and consist of cartes-de-visite, prints on paper, film and glass plate negatives, and electronic files. Current access is through an in-house database. Not all available photographs have been scanned nor is all the information about our photos online at this time.

To facilitate public access the Archives staff created contact sheets of, and identification reports for, selected subjects and state agencies. Most of the scanned photos are at a resolution of either 75 or 100 dpi; if you require a higher resolution or would like to request the use of images for publication, please contact us.


Each photo is identified by a unique code (example: CCC-0001) that allows us to find the image more easily. This code is listed on the attached contact sheets that have been created for 'Carson City' and 'Events'.

John Nulty was employed by the Nevada Secretary of State’s office, but his avocation was photography and he had a photo developing laboratory in the basement of the State Capitol building. Much of his time was spent capturing on film the officials, employees, buildings, and activities of state government. He also photographed many private businesses, houses, and other buildings in Carson City and the surrounding area, including aerials views of the capital city; and private citizens during special occasions such as anniversaries, weddings, and grand openings of businesses.

The John Nulty collection of photographs consists of 3,191 prints and negatives dating from approximately 1947-1975 with the bulk dates ranging from 1958-1967. The collection is almost entirely negatives which are arranged alphabetically by subject:

  • Airports and Aircraft
  • Boards and Commissions (members)
  • Buildings, Capitol
  • Buildings, Governor’s Mansion
  • Buildings, State
  • Carson City
  • Civil Rights
  • Events
  • Genoa
  • Lake Tahoe
  • Landscapes
  • Laxalt, Paul, Governor
  • Legislators and Elected Officials
  • Library, State
  • List, Robert, Governor
  • Miscellaneous
  • O’Callaghan, Mike, Governor
  • People, Identified
  • People, Unidentified
  • Pittman, Vail, Governor 
  • Prison, Nevada State
  • Reno
  • Russell, Charles, Family
  • Russell, Charles, Governor
  • Russell, Charles, with Identified People
  • Russell, Charles, with Unidentified People
  • Sawyer, Grant, Family
  • Sawyer, Grant, Governor
  • Sawyer, Grant, Governor, Inauguration
  • Sawyer, Grant, with Identified People
  • Sawyer, Grant, with Unidentified People
  • State Employees
  • Virginia City, Nevada State
  • Washoe Valley

The Nulty prints are also arranged by topic. When a matching negative was located it was placed with the print. There are a few color prints but most are black and white. The sizes vary from 2x2" to 8x10". Subjects include:

  • Airports and Aircraft
  • Buildings, State Capitol
  • Carson City
  • Employment Security Employees
  • Frye, Tom, Champion Trap Shooter Exhibition
  • Go-Cart Races around the Legislative Building
  • Lake Tahoe
  • Nulty, John (photos of the photographer)
  • People, Identified
  • People, Unidentified
  • Places, Identified
  • Places, Unidentified
  • Russell, Charles, Governor
  • Stampede Dam Dedication
  • Virginia City

CCC-0001 Title: Carson City Aerial looking west from Capitol roof Summary: Churches, Carson & King Streets Date: 1875 ca

CCC-0002 Title: Carson City Aerial looking west over residential neighborhoods Summary: Colorized postcard

CCC-0003 Title: Bishop, CA (originally misidentified as Carson City) Summary: Line Street looking toward Mount Tom and Basin Mountain Date: 1909

CCC-0004 Title: Carson City Aerial looking east from "C" Hill Date: 1875

CCC-0005 Title: Carson City Aerial looking from southeast to northwest over entire town Date: 1960 ca?

CCC-0006 Title: Carson City Aerial looking northeast from "C" Hill, small plane making aerial drop over fire

CCC-0007 Title: Carson City Aerial centered over capitol Date: 1970 ca?

CCC-0008 Title: Carson City Aerial taken over center of town from high elevation

CCC-0009 Title: Carson City Aerial Bird's Eye lithograph Date: 1875

CCC-0010 Title: Carson City Aerial Bird's Eye lithograph Date: 1875

CCC-0011 Title: A. M. Ardery home Date: 1916/01/20

CCC-0012 Title: A. M. Ardery home Date: 1916/01/18

CCC-0013 Title: Home on East 5th Street Date: 1916

CCC-0014 Title: A. M. Ardery home

CCC-0015 Title: Ormsby Home

CCC-0016 Title: Orion Clemens home Date: 1961

CCC-0017 Title: J. Neely Johnson home

CCC-0018 Title: Nevada Governor's Mansion, plaque in front of house

CCC-0019 Title: Stewart – Governor Nye house

CCC-0020 Title: Aerial looking west from Carson City toward Lake Tahoe Summary: Taken from 13,500' elevation Date: 1969

CCC-0021 Title: St. Peters Episcopal Church Date: 1930

CCC-0022 Title: Presbyterian Church

CCC-0023 Title: First United Methodist Church

CCC-0024 Title: First Presbyterian Church Date: 1899

CCC-0025 Title: Decorated alter in unidentified Carson City church

CCC-0026 Title: Carson City Public School Date: 1916-1920

CCC-0027 Title: Stewart Indian School

CCC-0028 Title: Carson City Public School Summary: Minnesota between Proctor & Telegraph

CCC-0029 Title: Warren Engine House on Musser Street

CCC-0030 Title: Carson City Fire Department on Musser Street

CCC-0031 Title: White House Hotel, corner of E. 3rd and S. Fall Streets Summary: Taken after a fire

CCC-0032 Title: Ormsby House at the corner 2nd and Carson Streets Date: 1863

CCC-0033 Title: Ormsby House Date: 1863 ca

CCC-0034 Title: Ormsby House bar Date: 1863 ca

CCC-0035 Title: Corner of Musser & Carson Streets: Great Basin Hotel, Meyers Hardware, Warren Engine Co., Methodist Church, St. Peter's Episcopal Church Summary: Taken from State Capitol roof before landscaping and iron fence Date: 1871

CCC-0036 Title: Warm Springs Hotel

CCC-0037 Title: Pinion Hills Carson River crossing Date: 1963/05/21

CCC-0038 Title: Pinion Hills Carson River crossing Date: 1963/05/21

CCC-0039 Title: Pinion Hills Carson River crossing Date: 1963/05/21

CCC-0040 Title: Carson City Golf Course

CCC-0041 Title: Carson City boxing ring setup for the Corbett-Fitzsimons fight Date: 1897

CCC-0042 Title: Carson Savings Bank, North Carson Street Date: 1880 ca

CCC-0043 Title: Virginia and Truckee Railroad depot on Carson Street

CCC-0044 Title: Federal Building on North Carson Street Date: 1890, ca

CCC-0045 Title: State Capitol and grounds looking northeast Date: 1890, ca

CCC-0046 Title: Virginia and Truckee Railroad depot Date: 1890, ca

CCC-0047 Title: Stewart Indian School Date: 1890, ca

CCC-0048 Title: Carson City Mint on North Carson Street Date: 1890, ca

CCC-0049 Title: Residential street scene Date: 1890, ca

CCC-0050 Title: Bank on street corner, unidentified Date: 1890, ca

CCC-0051 Title: School in Carson City, unidentified Date: 1890, ca

CCC-0052 Title: Nevada State Prison entrance gates on East 5th Street Date: 1890, ca

CCC-0053 Title: Stewart Indian School Date: 1890, ca

CCC-0054 Title: Carson River east of Carson City Date: 1890, ca

CCC-0055 Title: 5th street covered with snow Date: 1916

CCC-0056 Title: Carson City house and street covered with 6" of snow Date: 1916/01/18

CCC-0057 Title: North Carson Street, looking south from the post office Summary: Shows boy on bicycle Date: 1928

CCC-0058 Title: North Carson Street, looking south from the post office Summary: Shows boy on bicycle

CCC-0059 Title: Looking east on 5th Street toward State Prison Summary: street lined with trees, wood fence

CCC-0060 Title: Carson Street Saloon, "one block north of Meyer's Hotel" Date: 1890, ca

CCC-0061 Title: Future site of the Capitol Complex Date: 1930 ca

CCC-0062 Title: King Street looking east to Capitol Date: 1930 ca

CCC-0063 Title: King Street looking east to Capitol Date: 1930 ca

CCC-0064 Title: King Street looking east to Capitol Date: 1930 ca

CCC-0065 Title: Stewart Street looking north Summary: showing V&TRR tracks and small houses Date: 1930 ca

CCC-0066 Title: Stewart & King Streets looking west Summary: showing V&TRR tracks and small houses Date: 1930 ca

CCC-0067 Title: Stewart and Musser Streets looking south Summary: showing V&TRR tracks and small houses Date: 1930 ca

CCC-0068 Title: Looking west on Musser at the corner of Stewart Summary: V&TRR tracks and small houses Date: 1930 ca

CCC-0069 Title: Corner of Musser and Fall Streets, Ada Meyers home Date: 1930 ca

CCC-0070 Title: East King and Park Streets Date: 1930 ca

CCC-0071-0079 Title: Destruction of unidentified old building Summary: Location unidentified Date: 1960 ca

CCC-0080 Title: Carson City Aerial looking east to west across town

CCC-0081 Title: Montgomery Wards on North Carson Street Date: 1960 ca

CCC-0082 Title: [Greater Nevada] Credit Union 911 E. 2nd Street at the corner of S. Pratt Date: 1960 ca

CCC-0083 Title: Senator Club and Café 203 N. Carson Street, Carson City Date: 1950 early

CCC-0084 Title: Federal Building Date: 1960 ca

CCC-0085 Title: Long John Silver's restaurant S. Carson Street Date: 1960 ca

CCC-0086 Title: Unidentified office building at N. Carson and Spear Streets Date: 1960 ca

CCC-0087 Title: Coventry Cross Episcopal Church [Minden?] Date: 1963

CCC-0088 Title: Carson City Aerial looking west from Capitol Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0089 Title: Carson City Aerial looking west from Capitol Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0090 Title: Carson City Aerial Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0091 Title: Carson City Aerial centered over Capitol looking south to Children's Home Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0092 Title: Carson City Aerial King Street west of public school Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0093 Title: Carson City Aerial from Capitol to north end of town Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0094 Title: Carson City Aerial from Capitol to northwest end of town Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0095 Title: Carson City Aerial from Capitol to northwest end of town Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0096 Title: Carson City Aerial over unidentified undeveloped area Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0097 Title: Carson City Aerial over unidentified outskirts Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0098 Title: Carson City Aerial over unidentified outskirts Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0099 Title: Carson City Aerial undeveloped area and check dam? Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0100 Title: Carson City Aerial northeast showing Highway 50 Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0101 Title: Carson City Aerial centered over capitol Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0102 Title: Carson City Aerial unidentified area including development and farm land Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0103 Title: Carson City Aerial east along Highway 50? Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0104 Title: Carson City Aerial hilly undeveloped area and check dam? Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0105 Title: Carson City Aerial hilly undeveloped area check dam? Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0106 Title: Carson City Aerial unidentified area including development and fields Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0107 Title: Carson City Aerial hilly undeveloped area and check dam? Summary: Date: 1972 ca

CCC-0108 Title: Carson City Aerial looking northwest Date:

CCC-0109 Title: Carson City Aerial featuring state capitol looking south Date: 1915

CCC-0110-0111 Title: Carson City aerial view looking north

CCC-0112 Title: Carson City Aerial view looking from north to south Date: 1960 ca

CCC-0113 Title: Carson City Aerial view looking from north to south Date: 1960 ca

CCC-0114 Title: Carson City Aerial view looking west toward Lake Tahoe Date: 1970 ca

CCC-0116 Title: Carson City aerial view showing Capitol Comples Date: 1960 ca

CCC-0117 Title: Carson City aerial view looking west looking from north (near) to south Date: 1970 ca

CCC-0118 Title: 400 S. Carson Street, --Rio, bar, [4 CB Club?] Date: 1970 ca

CCC-0119 Title: 408 and 410 S. Carson Street, bar and consignment shop Date: 1970 ca

CCC-0120 Title: 400 S. Carson Street, --Rio, bar, [4 CB Club?] Date: 1970 ca

CCC-0121 Title: 408 and 410 S. Carson Street, bar and consignment shop Date: 1970 ca

CCC-0122 Title: 408 and 410 S. Carson Street, bar and consignment shop Date: 1970 ca

CCC-0123 Title: 400 S. Carson Street, --Rio, bar, [4 CB Club?] Date: 1970 ca

CCC-0124 Title: Carson River east of Carson City Date: 1890 ca

CCC-0125 Title: Federal building/US Post Office showing building to south Summary: 401 N. Carson Street Date: 1920s ca

CCC-0126 Title: Federal building/US Post Office showing building to north Summary: 401 N. Carson Street Date: n.d.

CCC-0127 Title: Carson City aerial encompassing Roop on east, Thompson on west, Washington on north and 7th St. on south Summary: Includes capitol, legislature, Nugget and Ormsby House casinos Date: 1972-1976 ca

EVN-0001 Title: Gans Boxing Match. Summary: Nelson F Gans fight at Goldfield, NV Sep 3 1906. Date: 1906

EVN-0002 Title: Jack Dempsey. Summary: World Champion Boxer Subjects: Dempsey, Jack

EVN-0003 Title: Corbett – McGovern Boxing Match. Summary: "Corbett Won 11 Rounds March 31 1903"; Ed Graney, Referee. Date: 1903

EVN-0004 Title: Johnson-Jeffries Boxing Match. Summary: Billy Jordan introduces fighter Johnson and others, Reno, NV (No.83(Dana Photo S.F.)). Date: July 4, 1910

EVN-0005 Title: Johnson-Jeffries Boxing Match, Reno, NV. Subjects: McIntosh, Hugh; Burns, Tommy; Sullivan, John L.; Coffroth, Jimmy; Gotch, Frank; Jordan, Jimmy; McCarry, Tom; Lang, Bill; Fitzsimmons, ?; Sharkey, Tom; Harding, Geo.,; Ketchell, Stanley Date: July 4, 1910

EVN-0006 Title: United States Congress Joint Session. Summary: President Roosevelt presiding. Date: December 8, 1941

EVN-0007 Title: State Fair - Churchill County. Summary: Corbett-Fitzsimmons fight March 17, 1897, Carson City; float.

EVN-0008 Title: State Fair - Churchill County. Summary: Pershing County agricultural display.

EVN-0009 Title: State Fair - Churchill County. Summary: Lyon County agricultural display.

EVN-0010 Title: State Fair - Churchill County. Summary: Churchill County agricultural display.

EVN-0011 Title: State Fair - Churchill County. Summary: Future Farmers of America display; Moapa Valley; Carson Valley; Nevada High Schools

EVN-0012 Title: State Fair - Churchill County. Summary: "Crafts of Washoe-Paiutes-Shoshones" display with craftsman.

EVN-0012 Title: State Fair - Churchill County. Summary: WPA exhibit.

EVN-0013 Title: State Fair - Churchill County. Summary: Works Project Administration; Writers Project; Pre-School Play Center

EVN-0014 Title: Austin Sanitary - Gridley Sack of Flour. Summary: Exhibit featuring sack that earned $275,000 for the US Sanitary Commission during the Civil War

EVN-0015 Title: Nevada's float for the 1949 Presidential (Truman) Inaugural Parades. Summary: Features skier, cowgirl, and the wording Battle Born 1864-1949 Lincoln to Truman. Date: 1949

EVN-0016 Title: Horses and riders Subjects: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1949

EVN-0017 Title: Kennecott Copper Corporation float Subjects: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1949

EVN-0018 Title: Barbara Vucanovich Subjects: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0019 Title: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0020 Title: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0021 Title: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0022 Title: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0023 Title: Congressman Harry Reid Subjects: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0024 Title: Covered wagon and horse and riders Subjects: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0025 Title: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0026 Title: Nevada Day Parade Subjects: Cactus Jack's Casino Date: 1986

EVN-0027 Title: Nevada Day Parade Subjects: Nugget casino Date: 1986

EVN-0028 Title: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0029 Title: Song leaders marching Subjects: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0030 Title: Grand Marshal Louise Curran Subjects: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0031 Title: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0032 Title: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0033 Title: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1986

EVN-0034 Title: Lions' Club float Subjects: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1963

EVN-0035 Title: Harrah's float Subjects: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1963

EVN-0036 Title: Harrah's float Subjects: Nevada Day Parade Date: 1963

EVN-0037 – EVN-0046 Title: Rescue of snowbound hunters in Pioche region Nov 4-9, 1957. Historical Note: Full text describing operation from Gov-0187, Folder 30 Subjects: Speicer, Major; Hamilton Field, CA; Lincoln County Sheriff's Office; Pioche, NV; Crawford, Lt. Ed; Bleak, Charles; Hill, R.W.; Pony Springs Date: Nov. 4-9, 1957

Summary: Photographs of the Nevada State Capitol. Views range from 1870 to 1913.

The Nevada State Capitol building was constructed between 1869 and 1871.

Nevada State Capitol Collection.

Location: Nevada State Library and Archives, Carson City, Nevada.

1. Nevada State Capitol (Carson City, Nev) 2. Carson City (Nev)

RGPN: NSC 0001-0004

ID: NVSV92-F325 CC: 9554 DCF: a

MORE INFO COMING SOON

MORE INFO COMING SOON

     

Loading ...