Nevada Talking Book Services (NTBS) is a free library service for Nevadans who are unable to use standard print materials due to a visual or physical disability. Books and players are mailed to and from our patrons postage free. The library's collection includes fiction and nonfiction audio books and magazines for all ages.
(L) A Talking Books patron using his time wisely, from the NLS collection of posters, (R) Talking Books librarian demonstrates the digital player to visiting Belarussian librarians, winter 2016.
Anyone who is a resident of the U.S. or it territories temporarily or permanently unable to see or hold print material is eligible for library services for the blind.
Eligibility includes certification as legally blind, visually, or physically impaired.
The application must be complete
The application must be signed by a competent authority trained in the evaluation of visual or physical handicaps such as a doctor of medicine, optometrist, physical therapist, etc.
Blind persons whose visual acuity as determined by a competent authority is 20/200 or less in the better eye with correcting lenses or whose widest diameter of visual field subtends an angular distance no greater than 20 degrees.
Persons whose visual disability with correction and regardless of optical measurement, is certified by a competent authority as preventing the reading of standard printed material
Persons certified by a competent authority as unable to read or unable to use standard printed material as a result of physical limitations
Persons certified by a competent authority as having a reading disability resulting from organic dysfunction and of sufficient severity to prevent their reading of printed material in a normal manner.
If you have one of the qualifications above, you can ask us to mail you an application, or you can download the application found on this page.
We can now accept faxed, emailed, or photocopied signatures.
Questions: Contact us at 775-684-3354
When you open your talking-book player box, you will find a series of instruction sheets, the player and packing materials.
The instruction sheets, in large print, comprise a list of important safety instructions and a Quick Start guide embossed in Braille. All instruction sheets should be saved for reference.
Store the box where you can find it so that it can be used to return the player for servicing.
To return the player, mail it to the address shown on the other side of the address card.
There are two players: Standard and Advanced. Most patrons will use the eight-button Standard Player.
The Advanced Player adds five buttons: Menu (how to navigate the book), Prev (move backward), Next (jump forward), Info (hear current reading position and other information), and Mark (set bookmarks).
Every patron is provided with a Digital Player if one is desired.
Please keep the box in which your machine arrived because you may need to return your machine at some point.
Audio books from this service will only play on the equipment provided and some third party players.
If your machine malfunctions, it is important that you call our library at 775-684-3354 or 1-800-922-9334. If a Reader Advisor is unable to correct the problem over the phone, you will need to return the machine to us, and we will send a replacement.
Using the original box, just place the machine in that box, turn the mailing label over so the notched edge is in the upper right hand corner.
The Nevada Talking Book Services (NTBS) collection covers pleasure reading materials for adult, young adult and juvenile readers, similar to that of any public library. It includes bestsellers, mysteries, westerns, science fiction, romances and biographies.
Foreign language and some reference books are also available.
Readers may request specific titles and authors, or they may ask the NTBS staff to select books for them based on their reading interests.
Readers can also receive popular magazines in audio and Braille formats or download them from the BARD website.
Nevada Recording Program
The Recording Program records audio books and magazines about Nevada and by Nevadans. See our Collection Development for more detailed information.
NTBS contracts with the Utah State Library to provide Braille books to eligible Nevadans. These books are loaned through postage-free mail directly to the reader. Contact us to receive this service.
The NLS has recorded numerous Bibles and other sacred writings for our patrons' reading pleasure. NTBS has loanable copies of the Holy Bible, containing the Old and New Testaments, in English and Spanish. This item can be loaned for up to 90 days just as other books in our collection are loaned. If you would like a permanent personal copy of this title, please review this handout.
For a detailed list of other religious writings, book numbers of those available through this program, and outside resources for obtaining them, please review this document.
Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC)
Search for books available in our library by title, author or local subjects; add titles to your request list; apply your patron profile to search results. Basic instructions are available on each page of the catalog. Contact us for your user ID and password.
New titles and titles recorded in our recording studio are available on the "Browse" page.
National Library Service Catalog
Search for titles available through the NLS program and from regional recording programs. Detailed instructions for foreign language title searching are available here.
Audio, braille, and print/braille books for preschool through grade 8.
Utah State Library
Use this catalog to search for titles in braille.
If you are registered with Nevada Talking Book Services and would like to receive braille materials, please contact us regarding access. If you have already established access through us, you can login to Utah's catalog to request titles. Contact the Utah State Library for your login information.
The listings on specified topics are produced in alternative formats of large print, braille and audio. The links will take you to a Web page for Gentle Romances (2015), Mysteries for Younger Readers (2012), and Westerns (2011). PDFs, if available, are provided for print purposes only.
Mini bibliographies are provided by National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped Network Services Section to staff at cooperating libraries to aid them in finding books for local library patrons. Some book numbers listed in mini bibliographies are for books recorded or brailled by a cooperating library. Since these local productions are not made with national distribution in mind, patrons of other libraries must work with their own library to borrow a copy.
The materials listed in these mini bibliographies are intended exclusively for individuals meeting eligibility requirements for service through the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped’s network of libraries.
Please notify the Nevada Talking Book Services (NTBS) if you move or if you change your phone number. Please notify us if you decide to cancel your service permanently or if you wish to place your service on temporary hold. Also, if you believe you are no longer eligible for service for any reason, please let us know. You can call us at 775-648-3354 or 1-800-922-9334, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Please call us if you are going to move to another state, If you will be living outside the state of Nevada for six months or longer, you will need to transfer your account to the current state in which you reside. You will no longer receive service through the NTBS, and you must return all cassette and digital books that we sent you. The machine(s) we have loaned to you may be taken with you to your new address; they will be transferred along with your reading records and application to the new serving library once you notify us of your move. To make your transition as easy as possible, please call us and we will transfer your service and give you the contact information for your new serving library. If you travel extensively throughout the United States your serving library will be in the state of your permanent address.
Commercially produced audiobooks added to the collection are not rated by the NLS Collection Development Section for levels of sex, language and violence. This accounts for approximately one third of the titles we receive each year.
Unrated books present difficulties for patrons whose do not wish to receive books with one or all of these elements. Therefore, some network libraries have organized to address this issue using volunteers to review and rate these unrated books. This entails listening to the book, noting the occurrence of these elements, and submitting a report in writing, email or phone to us. We then submit this information to update the rating on the title in question.
If you would like to volunteer for this project, contact us to get started. A title will be assigned. Please note: we do not have any control over what kind of book is assigned. The audio book and player will be provided for this purpose. There are no deadlines other than a reasonable length of time.
The Nevada Talking Book Services (NTBS) needs your help. The NTBS accepts donations and memorial gifts to be used by the Talking Book Program. These funds are used to enhance our services, supporting individuals and families in your community who need a more effective way to read because of a physical impairment, a reading disability or a vision impairment. We are extremely careful with the dollars you entrust in our care. By making a donation today, you are helping transform lives one child, one adult at a time. Questions? Call NTBS toll-free at 800-922-9334.
Donate by Mail:If you would like to make a donation by mail, please send your contribution in the form of money order or check to: NTBS, 100 North Stewart St., Carson City, NV 89701
Memorial Gifts: Memorial gifts are a wonderful way to celebrate special occasions or holidays, to thank a friend or relative, to honor someone special or to remember the life of a loved one. Notification of your gift will be sent to the honoree or family of the deceased.
Matching Gifts: You can increase your donation with employer matching funds! Many employers will match your personal donation. Check with your company for more information on matching gift programs.
Planned Giving: A gift bequest to NTBS is your guarantee that your gift will continue to benefit people in need of our services now and for years to come.
For more information, please call the administrative office of the Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records at 775-684-3313.
|Tammy Westergard, assistant administrator, Library & Developmentemail@example.com||(775) 684-3381|
|Hope Williams, Talking Books firstname.lastname@example.org||(775) 684-3381|
|Sam Arnn, circulation library email@example.com||(775) 684-3382|
|Eve Davis, new patron library firstname.lastname@example.org||(775) 684-3383|
|Zoleinna Schar, machine room email@example.com||(775) 684-3354|
|Jeannette Trocinski, circulation firstname.lastname@example.org||(775) 684-3354|
|Connie Corley, audio production email@example.com||(775) 684-3380|
NLS contracts for the manufacture of the Braille and recorded books and magazines and the special playback equipment and accessories. NLS provides the administrative support to coordinate the network of regional and sub-regional libraries around the nation.
Nevada Talking Books, as part of the Nevada State Library and Archives, coordinates services statewide.
Federal grants through the Library Services Technology Act, Institute of Museum and Library Services help support this program.
We are available in the Reno/Carson City area and greater Las Vegas area to attend conferences, meetings, and facilities to speak about our program. For more information, contact the appropriate staff person below.
In the North:
100 North Stewart St.
Carson City, NV 89701
Toll free 800-922-9334
In the Las Vegas area:
6655 W. Sahara Ave. suite B200
Las Vegas, NV 89146
The Nevada State Library, Archives & Public Records (NSLAPR) is part of the Nevada Department of Administration. Our mission is to document the history, organization, and function of Nevada state government.
We serve state and local government agencies, the business community, Nevada repositories, and the general public. In-depth research using in-house materials, databases, and referrals to other organizations are available during our open hours.
NSLAPR offers tours to the public, organizations, businesses, tourists and government personnel as part of our departmental mission to enrich the lives of citizens and visitors to the state of Nevada. Our tours can be specialized to meet the interests of each group.
Tours are usually around 45-60 minutes and provide an overview of the history of NSLAPR and functions of Nevada state government, as well as description samples from our collection.
For group tours exceeding 10 persons or for customized tours, a minimum of two weeks advance notice is appreciated.
Ready to schedule a tour?
NOTE: Tours of our State Records storage facility is available only to state employees whose agencies store their records with us.