Page Title Skip to main content
NOTE: Page revisions may impact bookmarks and result in an error message; if this occurs return to the homepage and proceed again. Also, suggestions are welcome through the online form.

Talking Books Screen Reader version: Screen Reader Home

Welcome to Nevada Talking Books Services
Our Vision: Deliver the best possible library services to all eligible clients that all may read.

Nevada Talking Book Services (NTBS) is a free library service for Nevadans who are unable to use standard print materials due to a visual or physical disability. Books and players are mailed to and from our patrons postage free. The library's collection includes fiction and nonfiction audio books and magazines for all ages.

YouTube facebook Twitter

Patron Applicatons

PDF of patron applicaton   Word version of patron application   pdf of Spanish patron application

                                                       Spanish version

Institutions Application

pdf of Institution Application

Supplemental School Application

Supplemental application for schools

Eligibility Criteria

Anyone who is a resident of the U.S. or it territories temporarily or permanently unable to see or hold print material is eligible for library services for the blind.

  • Eligibility includes certification as legally blind, visually, or physically impaired.

  • The application must be complete

  • The application must be signed by a competent authority trained in the evaluation of visual or physical handicaps such as a doctor of medicine, optometrist, physical therapist, etc.

Definition of Legally Blind:

  • Blind persons whose visual acuity as determined by a competent authority is 20/200 or less in the better eye with correcting lenses or whose widest diameter of visual field subtends an angular distance no greater than 20 degrees.

Definition of Visually or Physically Disabled Persons:

  • Persons whose visual disability with correction and regardless of optical measurement, is certified by a competent authority as preventing the reading of standard printed material

  • Persons certified by a competent authority as unable to read or unable to use standard printed material as a result of physical limitations

  • Persons certified by a competent authority as having a reading disability resulting from organic dysfunction and of sufficient severity to prevent their reading of printed material in a normal manner.

If you have one of the qualifications above, you can ask us to mail you an application, or you can download the application found on this page.

We can now accept faxed, emailed, or photocopied signatures.

Questions: Contact us at 775-684-3354

Summary and Statistics

Program Summary

Nevada Talking Book Services (NTBS) is part of the Library of Congress' National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (NLS) network of libraries providing services to blind, visually or physically handicapped individuals.

Books are available on digital cartridges and through Braille and Audio Reading Download (BARD). Magazines are available in digital format or through BARD; some materials are available in Braille.

Recorded books and magazines and special playback equipment are loaned to eligible readers free of charge.

All reading materials are sent to and returned by readers through postage-free mail.

Statistics

Our digital collection of talking books includes over 25,000 titles and almost 50,000 items. In FY 2017, over 113,000 items circulated to eligible Nevadans.

Additional titles are available through interlibrary loan from the NLS network of libraries.

Equipment

Digital Players

When you open your talking-book player box, you will find a series of instruction sheets, the player and packing materials.

The instruction sheets, in large print, comprise a list of important safety instructions and a Quick Start guide embossed in Braille. All instruction sheets should be saved for reference.

Store the box where you can find it so that it can be used to return the player for servicing.

To return the player, mail it to the address shown on the other side of the address card.

There are two players: Standard and Advanced. Most patrons will use the eight-button Standard Player.

The Advanced Player adds five buttons: Menu (how to navigate the book), Prev (move backward), Next (jump forward), Info (hear current reading position and other information), and Mark (set bookmarks).

Equipment Users Guide

Every patron is provided with a Digital Player if one is desired.

  • Please keep the box in which your machine arrived because you may need to return your machine at some point.

  • Audio books from this service will only play on the equipment provided and some third party players.

Requesting a Replacement Machine

If your machine malfunctions, it is important that you call our library at 775-684-3354 or 1-800-922-9334. If a Reader Advisor is unable to correct the problem over the phone, you will need to return the machine to us, and we will send a replacement.

Using the original box, just place the machine in that box, turn the mailing label over so the notched edge is in the upper right hand corner.

  • Please take it to the post office for postage free handling; do not return it to us through your mail carrier.
  • Call us if you are experiencing any difficulties with your machines or a replacement is necessary.
  • Please do not attempt to repair the machine.

Available Materials

Audio

The Nevada Talking Book Services (NTBS) collection covers pleasure reading materials for adult, young adult and juvenile readers, similar to that of any public library. It includes bestsellers, mysteries, westerns, science fiction, romances and biographies.

Foreign language and some reference books are also available.

Readers may request specific titles and authors, or they may ask the NTBS staff to select books for them based on their reading interests.

Readers can also receive popular magazines in audio and Braille formats or download them from the BARD website.

Nevada Recording Program

The Recording Program records audio books and magazines about Nevada and by Nevadans. See our Collection Development for more detailed information.

Braille

NTBS contracts with the Utah State Library to provide Braille books to eligible Nevadans. These books are loaned through postage-free mail directly to the reader. Contact us to receive this service.

Religious Material

The NLS has recorded numerous Bibles and other sacred writings for our patrons' reading pleasure. NTBS has loanable copies of the Holy Bible, containing the Old and New Testaments, in English and Spanish. This item can be loaned for up to 90 days just as other books in our collection are loaned. If you would like a permanent personal copy of this title, please review this handout.

For a detailed list of other religious writings, book numbers of those available through this program, and outside resources for obtaining them, please review this document.

Catalogs

Use these resources to search for titles available in the program.

Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC)

OPAC

Search for books available in our library by title, author or local subjects; add titles to your request list; apply your patron profile to search results. Basic instructions are available on each page of the catalog. Contact us for your user ID and password.

New titles and titles recorded in our recording studio are available on the "Browse" page.

National Library Service Catalog

Search for titles available through the NLS program and from regional recording programs. Detailed instructions for foreign language title searching are available here.

NLS/BPH Voyager Catalog

Text Only Version
NLS Kids Zone Catalog

Audio, braille, and print/braille books for preschool through grade 8.

Utah State Library

On-Line Catalog

Use this catalog to search for titles in braille.

If you are registered with Nevada Talking Book Services and would like to receive braille materials, please contact us regarding access. If you have already established access through us, you can login to Utah's catalog to request titles. Contact the Utah State Library for your login information.

The listings on specified topics are produced in alternative formats of large print, braille and audio. The links will take you to a Web page for Gentle Romances (2015), Mysteries for Younger Readers (2012), and Westerns (2011). PDFs, if available, are provided for print purposes only.

Mini bibliographies

Mini bibliographies are provided by National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped Network Services Section to staff at cooperating libraries to aid them in finding books for local library patrons. Some book numbers listed in mini bibliographies are for books recorded or brailled by a cooperating library. Since these local productions are not made with national distribution in mind, patrons of other libraries must work with their own library to borrow a copy.

The materials listed in these mini bibliographies are intended exclusively for individuals meeting eligibility requirements for service through the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped’s network of libraries.

Native American Titles Bibliography

About Braille and Audio Download (BARD)

Link to BARD

The BARD program is the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped's free digital book download service. Digital books, digital magazine titles, music books and scores, and Braille books are available in BARD with new items added daily.

To qualify for BARD, one must first have an active Nevada Talking Book Services account, be in good standing, have an e-mail address, and a high-speed Internet connection. Downloading books or magazines from BARD also requires some computer expertise.

BARD Instruction
This video will give you step-by-step instructions on how to download books from BARD. Or link to our written instructions.

NTBS patrons with a BARD account may download audio and braille books to their iPhone, iPad or iPod touch.

The BARD Mobile app is available through the App Store on your iOS device. This free app allows readers to download audio and braille books from their NLS BARD accounts and play them on these devices.

BARD Mobile iOS Application

BARD Mobile Handbook for iOS devices

NTBS patrons can also access audio books and magazines from an Android smartphone or tablet. Download the free app from the Google Play Store.

BARD Mobile Android Application

BARD Mobile Handbook for Android devices

Library of Congress YouTube videos for BARD

BARD Express 

BARD Mobile

Current newsletter in audio, PDF and text

Audio

mp3

PDF

SilverLining Winter 2018 PDF

Text Document

SilverLining Winter 2018 text document

Past Issues

Winter 2018    Winter 2018      

Summer 2018       Spring 2018         Winter 2018

Spring 2018     Spring 2018      Audio Winter 2018

text version

 

 Autumn 2017                    Summer 2017                    Spring 2017                    Winter 2017

  Autumn 2017              Summer 2017                Spring 2017                  Winter 2017

Autumn 2016                    Summer 2016                    Spring 2016                    Winter 2016

Autumn 2016                 Summer 2016                Spring 2016                   Winter 2016

Autumn 2015                    Summer 2015                    Spring 2015                    Winter 2015

Autumn 2015               Summer 2015               Spring 2015                   Winter 2015

Autumn 2014                    Summer 2014                    Spring 2014                    Winter 2014

  Autumn  2014               Summer 2014                Spring  2014                 Winter 2014

Spring 2013                    Winter 2013

   Spring 2013                Winter 2013

Loading ...

How it Works

Reader Profile

The goal of the program is to provide you with books that you will enjoy reading. One of the first things we do with all new patrons is to establish a unique patron profile. We use the information gathered directly from you and from your application to prepare guidelines for our computer to send you books that fit your interests and reading needs.

Book Selection: Request List Only and Auto Selection

Request List Only

You may choose books yourself by requesting specific book numbers from the catalogs. Then mail, fax, email, or phone in your order. You can call to request specific book titles and authors even if you do not see them in our catalogs. You can also enter them directly into your request file using our online public access catalog (OPAC) at http://webopac.klas.com/nvtbs

Auto Selection

Because all our patron records and book files are stored on computer, it is possible for our database software to choose books for you based on your favorite authors and genres. We call this option Auto-Select. For example, if you want mysteries but have told us you do not want books by the author Robert Parker or the books that contain any sex, strong language or violence, the computer will scan the catalog for mystery titles that match these criteria. Once it has surveyed these titles, it will then search your reading history and disregard any that you have already borrowed from us. The computer will then choose the first available title to be sent to you. Auto-Select is an easy way for you to browse the collection and sample titles and authors that you might not otherwise know about.  You can order specific titles, have favorite authors and still be on Auto-Select service.

Turnaround Service

Generally, when you return a book to us, it is checked in the day of receipt and another will be sent out the next business day. We recommend that your return a book as soon as you have finished reading it so that there is no interruption in service.

Free Matter

All books and equipment from this service travel by mail postage-free marked “Free Matter for the Blind and Physically Handicapped”. Your welcome letter, catalogs, talking books, and equipment will arrive at different times. Because all materials are mailed postage-free, we cannot guarantee when your materials will arrive. Please be patient.

Each container has a slot with a mailing label card. Your address is on one side. When you have finished with the book, remove the card from the slot and turn it over so the library's address appears (there is a clipped corner in the upper right-hand side of the mail card). Then replace the card in the slot and drop the book into any postal drop box or take it to your local post office.

Your postal carrier is under no obligation to pick up our books from you or out of your mail box to return to us though you may be able to make special arrangements with your carrier to do so.

Tagging Defective Books
If one of the books is not playing properly for any reason, please place a rubber band around the book cartridge. If you would like the book back so that you can finish reading it, please call us. If we do not hear from you, we will not send that book back to you when it is repaired.

Policies

Changes in Address or Service

Please notify the Nevada Talking Book Services (NTBS) if you move or if you change your phone number. Please notify us if you decide to cancel your service permanently or if you wish to place your service on temporary hold. Also, if you believe you are no longer eligible for service for any reason, please let us know. You can call us at 775-684-3354 or 1-800-922-9334, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Please call us if you are going to move to another state, If you will be living outside the state of Nevada for six months or longer, you will need to transfer your account to the current state in which you reside. You will no longer receive service through the NTBS, and you must return all cassette and digital books that we sent you. The machine(s) we have loaned to you may be taken with you to your new address; they will be transferred along with your reading records and application to the new serving library once you notify us of your move. To make your transition as easy as possible, please call us and we will transfer your service and give you the contact information for your new serving library. If you travel extensively throughout the United States your serving library will be in the state of your permanent address.

Misuse of Service

It is our pleasure to serve the patrons of the Talking Book Program and we hope that our staff, materials, and equipment will be treated with equal care and respect. It is possible that you may have your borrowing privileges suspended if any of the following occur repeatedly:

•  Requesting replacement of equipment or materials that have been damaged through carelessness, abuse, or unauthorized repair

•  A large number of overdue, lost, or damaged books

•  Obscene, harassing, degrading, or threatening language or behavior to any Nevada Talking Book staff member(s) or volunteer(s)

•  Loaning of books, magazines, or equipment to other persons.

•  Refusing to respond to machine audit requests or overdue book notices.

If it appears that you have misused service in any way, our staff will first discuss the problem with you by telephone or in person. A letter will then be sent that states the problem and provides an opportunity for you to respond within 30 days.

To avoid suspension, you must contact the NTBS before the scheduled suspension date and be prepared to explain why suspension should not take place. If misuse of service continues, the NTBS staff will send a notice suspending your service.

The suspension period will not exceed six months and will affect only that portion of the service that has been abused. Service will not be permanently canceled and will resume after the suspension date. You will be notified by mail when your service will be returning to normal.

If service abuse recurs, a second written communication will be sent to the client citing the earlier warning letter, listing examples of subsequent abuse, giving the client an opportunity to reply by a certain date, and then suspending the service for a stated period (up to six months). A specific date for resumption of service will be included in this letter.

Use of the U.S. Mail

No postage is required to borrow or return materials. Most of the materials sent out by the Talking Book Program are eligible to be mailed as Free Matter for the Blind and Physically Handicapped. When returning materials to us, simply place the items into a regular post office drop box or take them to the United States Post Office. Please make sure that you have flipped the card over so that the library's return address appears. You will know that the card is oriented correctly if the clipped edge is in the upper right-hand corner.

Postal regulations require that anyone who mails materials as Free Matter for the Blind and Physically Handicapped must register with their local post office. Some post offices are stricter than others. Any problems you may be experiencing may be cleared up by talking to your post office. If a mail carrier refuses to pick up materials, you are responsible for returning them to the post office. But you may want to talk with the Post Master to see if the problem can be resolved.

Loan Policies

The following policies govern the circulation of books and equipment to eligible blind and/or physically handicapped readers of the Nevada Talking Book Services.

Eligible readers who borrow materials from the library accept responsibility for using materials with reasonable care, returning them to the lending agency according to established loan policies, and not losing or damaging them through negligence. Violation of this policy can result in suspension of some or all library services. [NLM 9.10.2]

Books are on loan to you for up to 90 days. Digital magazines in gray plastic boxes must be returned to us in 30 days in order for you to receive the next issue. Digital magazines in red containers are sent to you from NLS. These should be returned to sender as soon as you are finished with them. Although we do not charge overdue fines, it is in your best interest to return books promptly. Since each book you return to us prompts another one to be sent, an overdue book will keep you from getting a replacement book.

Recorded books and specialized playback equipment are loaned to eligible registered readers without charge. Records will be kept of all such loans. The borrower should notify the library of changes of address, a desire to cancel the service, or temporary or permanent transfer of service to another geographic area.

Books and equipment will be loaned to registered readers as long as they are eligible and as long as they actively use the materials during each twelve month period. All books and playback equipment remain the property of the federal government.

For questions or comments please contact Nevada Talking Book Services.

Nevada Talking Book Services
Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records
100 N. Stewart Street
Carson City, NV 89701-4285

or call: (775) 684-3354 Carson City/Reno

E-mail to: nvtalkingbooks@admin.nv.gov

Toll-free in Nevada: 1-800-922-9334

Confidentiality

Nevada Talking Book Services safeguards the privacy of patrons’ registration and circulation records in accordance with the State of Nevada Revised Statute (NRS)  239.013.

NRS 239.013  Confidentiality of records of library which identify user with property used.  

Any records of a public library or other library which contain the identity of a user and the books, documents, films, recordings or other property of the library which were used are confidential and not public books or records within the meaning of NRS 239.010. Such records may be disclosed only in response to an order issued by a court upon a finding that the disclosure of such records is necessary to protect the public safety or to prosecute a crime.(Added to NRS by 1981, 182)

Volunteering

Talking Book Services welcomes volunteers

Volunteers assist NTBS staff provide library services to Nevada's citizens with print impairment. Opportunities for volunteering are designed to match a volunteer's skills, interests, and schedule. The staff will work with the volunteer to develop a schedule based on the library's operating hours, for on-going commitments, and for one-time projects. Confidentiality and attention to details are required.

In the Carson City area:

Circulation

Circulation volunteers help us provide library services to patrons by

  • Inspecting books
  • Filing and other clerical duties

 Recording program

Recording volunteers, narrators and reviewers, assist the Recording Program produce books and magazines about Nevada and by Nevada authors.

Narrators:

  • Have a clear and distinct voice
  • Be able to sustain a consistent level of verbal energy over a long period of time
  • Read in a conversational manner
  • Commit to completing a book including time for narration and corrections
  • Able to volunteer two hours per week

Reviewers:

  • Able to listen to a narrator's recording noting when and where errors, mispronunciations and extraneous sounds are made
  • Have good hearing
  • Attention to detail
  • Good concentration skills
  • Basic computer skills
  • Able to volunteer two hours per week

From Your Home:

RUB Reviewers (Rating Unrated Books)

Listen to audio books for levels of sex, language and violence.

RUB volunteers:

  • Listen to the book, noting the occurrence of these elements
  • Submit a report in writing, email or by phone
  • OK with any type of book to review
  • Complete in a reasonable length of time
  • Book and player provided

Nevada Talking Book Services Strategic Plan

Strategic Plan text document

Donate to theTalking Book Services Program

The Nevada Talking Book Services (NTBS) needs your help. The NTBS accepts donations and memorial gifts to be used by the Talking Book Program. These funds are used to enhance our services, supporting individuals and families in your community who need a more effective way to read because of a physical impairment, a reading disability or a vision impairment. We are extremely careful with the dollars you entrust in our care. By making a donation today, you are helping transform lives one child, one adult at a time. Questions? Call NTBS toll-free at 800-922-9334.

Donate by Mail:If you would like to make a donation by mail, please send your contribution in the form of money order or check to: NTBS, 100 North Stewart St., Carson City, NV 89701

Memorial Gifts: Memorial gifts are a wonderful way to celebrate special occasions or holidays, to thank a friend or relative, to honor someone special or to remember the life of a loved one. Notification of your gift will be sent to the honoree or family of the deceased.

Matching Gifts:  You can increase your donation with employer matching funds! Many employers will match your personal donation. Check with your company for more information on matching gift programs.

Planned Giving: A gift bequest to NTBS is your guarantee that your gift will continue to benefit people in need of our services now and for years to come.

For more information, please call the administrative office of the Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records at 775-684-3313.

Patron Comments

  • Thank you for your assistance in providing Nevada Talking Book Services. I sincerely appreciate the help and your professional care. Blessings.
  • You all add great joy to my life---
  • My father died Tuesday. This player was at his side. Thank you so much. It was his best friend.
  • l've been a little slow lately, but am back to wellness & listening again. Thank you folks for the wonderful gift of talking books.                             
  • I just want you to know how much pleasure you gave my late husband in the last days of his life. You kept them coming and he looked forward to the mail on a daily basis, especially the last couple of weeks of his life.
  • My husband has gotten many hours of pleasure from the talking books. Thank you for your prompt and courteous service.
  • Thank you for being in my life.
  • We are extremely happy with the courteous and friendly contacts we have had ... Thank you for offering this to us.
  • I want to thank you for your service. I will no longer need your service, however, as I am expiring my sentence and leaving Nevada ... ! am returning the player and headphones you have kindly provided ... You have no idea how much I appreciate what your service has made possible for me.

Related Services

The Nevada Talking Books Library provides these resource links as a courtesy only; we do not endorse any product or service listed below, and we do not have control over their content. To access the resource list, open the document below. 

 Link to resource list 

Contacts

General Contact Information

Main number 775-684-3354
In state toll free 800-922-9334
Fax 775-684-3355
General email nvtalkingbooks@admin.nv.gov

 

Staff, Carson City

Tammy Westergard, assistant administrator, Library & Development twestergard@admin.nv.gov (775) 684-3381
Hope Williams, Talking Books librarian hwilliams@admin.nv.gov (775) 684-3381
Sam Arnn, circulation library assistant sarnn@admin.nv.gov (775) 684-3382
Eve Davis, new patron library assistant eve.davis@admin.nv.gov (775) 684-3383
Zoleinna Schar, machine room assistant zschar@admin.nv.gov (775) 684-3354
Jeannette Trocinski, circulation assistant jtrocinski@admin.nv.gov (775) 684-3354
Connie Corley, audio production editor  ccorley@admin.nv.gov (775) 684-3380

 

Outreach Staff, Las Vegas


Brett Silver, Las Vegas library technician, outreach bsilver@admin.nv.gov (702) 486-3737
Colin Miller, Las Vegas outreach assistant csmiller@admin.nv.gov (702) 486-3736

 

Support Provided By...

National Library Service (NLS)

NLS contracts for the manufacture of the Braille and recorded books and magazines and the special playback equipment and accessories. NLS provides the administrative support to coordinate the network of regional and sub-regional libraries around the nation.

Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records

Nevada Talking Books, as part of the Nevada State Library and Archives, coordinates services statewide.

Library Services Technology Act (LSTA)

Federal grants through the Library Services Technology Act, Institute of Museum and Library Services help support this program.

Schedule an Outreach Visit

We are available in the Reno/Carson City area and greater Las Vegas area to attend conferences, meetings, and facilities to speak about our program. For more information, contact the appropriate staff person below.

In the North:

Hope Williams

100 North Stewart St.

Carson City, NV 89701

775-684-3381

Fax: 775-684-3330

Toll free 800-922-9334

Email: hwilliams@admin.nv.gov

In the Las Vegas area:

Brett Silver

6655 W. Sahara Ave. suite B200

Las Vegas, NV 89146

702-486-3737

Fax: 702-486-7297

Email: bsilver@admin.nv.gov

State Library, Archives & Records Tours

About Our Tours

The Nevada State Library, Archives & Public Records (NSLAPR) is part of the Nevada Department of Administration.  Our mission is to document the history, organization, and function of Nevada state government.

We serve state and local government agencies, the business community, Nevada repositories, and the general public.  In-depth research using in-house materials, databases, and referrals to other organizations are available during our open hours.  

NSLAPR offers tours to the public, organizations, businesses, tourists and government personnel as part of our departmental mission to enrich the lives of citizens and visitors to the state of Nevada.  Our tours can be specialized to meet the interests of each group.

Tours are usually around 45-60 minutes and provide an overview of the history of NSLAPR and functions of Nevada state government, as well as description samples from our collection.  

For group tours exceeding 10 persons or for customized tours, a minimum of two weeks advance notice is appreciated.

Ready to schedule a tour?

NOTE: Tours of our State Records storage facility is available only to state employees whose agencies store their records with us.